The village school moved to its premises in School Lane in 1910 from its previous location in Hammerwood Road. The new building opened to pupils on 30th August 1910 and the photographs below were taken in that year.
The School is very fortunate to have logbooks, written almost daily by past Head teachers dating back as far as the 1870s. These logbooks give us a fascinating glimpse of days gone by and are an invaluable resource when we are studying historical topics such as the Victorians and World War II.
Below are some quotes taken from the logbooks:
11th July 1944: 'flying bomb exploded within one mile; two parents came for their children'.
21st Sept. 1896: 'Attendance improved - some 'hoppers' still away'.
17th July 1944: 'Doctors present a.m. to examine children who registered for evacuation'.
18th Oct. 1896: 'Inspector reported that the 'gentlemen's offices' were in need of improvement'.
21st July 1944: 'Children took shelter 7 times this morning.
16th Sept. 1896: 'Only 82 present out of 179 due to opening of new Post Office in East Grinstead'.
Successful, thriving and forward-looking;
A place where children enjoy learning in a
happy, supportive environment;
A place where every individual makes a positive contribution, whether that is in school, in our community or in the wider world.